2017 Brings Dadasaheb Phalke Award For Kapil Again, PeeCee And Oberois Also On List

List of 2017 recipients.

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India's highest award in cinema. It is presented annually at the National Film Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals, an organisation set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

The Directorate of Film Festivals is the organisation which honours the recipients with the award which includes Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medallion, a shawl and cash of Rs 10 lakh. 

Stand-up comedian Kapil Sharma has been chosen for 2017 Dadasaheb Phalke Academy Award, according to the DNA media sources.

Kapil Sharma had received this award in 2014 for his exceptional comedy skills. But he had to collect it backstage because he had reached late to the award show. 

Kapil has been a part of several controversies lately due to his clashes with his former co-actors like Sunil Grover who performed in his comedy show - The Comedy Nights With Kapil. As a result, the show's popularity had declined steadily.