On In Sports

MS Dhoni Made An Unexpected Mistake During This Match And No One Noticed It

The former Indian Cricket Team captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni is known for doing unexpected things on the cricket field. As a wicket-keeper batsman, he has done some extraordinary work, and that's why the whole world loves him. He is also known as one of the greatest captains in the history of the game.We, humans, commit mistakes and how can Dhoni be an exception? It was during a match against Australia in 2012 when Dhoni did something unexpected. I know you may be wondering why I am talking about the mistake today. Since we all have been engaging in IPL matches these days, I chose this day to reveal something about Dhoni. (Don't curse me)

The mistake was committed during a 32-over match against Australia.

The first match between India and Australia of the Commonwealth Bank Series was played at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne on Feb 5, 2012.

The 50 overs match was converted into a 32 overs match because...

The rain was continuously pouring. After the rain, the match was made of 32 overs, and there were some changes made in the rules of the game.

MS comitted the blunder during fielding.

Due to decreased overs, only two bowlers were allowed from both sides to bowl a maximum of seven overs, but MS gave three bowlers seven overs.

MS Dhoni gave Rahul Sharma his seventh over.

Two Indian bowlers Praveen Kumar and Vinay Kumar completed their seven overs in the match, despite that Dhoni gave Rahul Sharma his seventh over which was against the rules.

The umpires stopped the match after Rahul had bowled two deliveries.

The umpires caught the mistake after two deliveries, and they did not allow Rahul to continue.

Take a look the scorecard.

Ravindra Jadeja bowled the remaining four deliveries of Rahul's over. Australian media called it an obstructive cheating from MS Dhoni and Indian team.That's all, folks!